Skip to main content

2012 Alumni Hall of Fame Honorees Named

October 15, 2012

The Phoenix College Alumni Association (PCAA) will host the 14th annual Alumni Hall of Fame Scholarship Dinner and Auction on November 8, 2012 at the Hyatt Regency Phoenix.

This year's honorees are:

  • Gen Kriner, '55
  • Kenneth Stites, '60
  • James "Skip" Davis, '64
  • Dennis "Mo" Layton, '68
  • Dr. Daniel Enrique Perez, '91
  • Judy Boschult, '04
  • Lourdes Vasquez, '08
  • Dr. Albert Celoza
  • Cecilia Esquer (posthumously)
  • Merrill Mahaffey

The honorees include alumni, faculty, and staff who have made considerable contributions to their community and Phoenix College. For mini bios on the honorees, visit here.

Prior to the awards dinner, a silent auction will raise money for student scholarships. Through generous donations from local businesses, guests will be able to bid on items that range from restaurant gift certificates to sports memorabilia.

This year, the PCAA is excited to announce that one of its honorees, Merrill Mahaffey, will be donating one of his paintings for auction. Mahaffey was a faculty member at Phoenix College for nearly two decades. His students have included world-renowned artists Eric Fischl and Bruce Aiken. In addition to his extensive teaching experience, he is a well-known artist in his own right. His paintings of Southwestern landscapes are showcased in collections throughout the United States. See examples of Mahaffey's work.

Tickets for the event are $60, with net proceeds benefiting the Alumni Scholarship Program in the Maricopa Community Colleges Foundation, which helps financially deserving students attend Phoenix College. For ticket information, contact the Office of Alumni & Development or call 602.285.7652.