Academics

Academic Calendar

Phoenix College may modify start dates in order to meet special needs. Dates listed which are directly related to instruction refer to the traditional academic year. Some courses may be offered over time periods for which these dates are not applicable. See the MCCCD Academic Calendar for official information.

SUMMER SEMESTER - 2019
NOTE: SUBJECT TO THE 2019-2020 CATALOG 

Tue, May 28 Summer Semester Begins
Mon-Wed, Jul 1-3 Summer Break for Clock Hour Programs Only
Thur, Jul 4 Observance of Independence Day (Campus Closed)
Thur, Aug 1 Summer Semester Ends

FALL SEMESTER - 2019
NOTE: SUBJECT TO THE 2019-2020 CATALOG 

Sat, Aug 17 Classes Begin
Mon Sep 2 Observance of Labor Day (Campus Closed)
Mon, Sep 16 Find a Class Opens for Spring
Mon, Sep 30 Spring 2020 Priority Registration for Currently Enrolled Students
Mon, Oct 7 Spring 2020 Open Registration Begins
* Application for December 2019 Graduation
+ Last Day for Withdrawal without Instructor's Signature
Mon, Nov 11 Observance of Veterans Day (Campus Closed)
Thur-Sun, Nov 28 - Dec 1 Thanksgiving Holiday (Campus Closed)
++ Last Day Student Initiated Withdrawal Accepted
Sun, Dec 8 Last Day of Classes
Mon-Thur, Dec 9-12 Final Exams** - Final Exam Schedule
Fri, Dec 13 Mid-Year Recess Begins for Students
Fri, Dec 13 Fall Semester Ends (Last day of Faculty Accountability)
Wed-Wed, Dec 25 - Jan 1 Mid-Year Recess (Campus Closed)

SPRING SEMESTER - 2020
NOTE: SUBJECT TO THE 2019-2020 CATALOG 

Wed, Jan 1 Observance of New Year's Day (Campus Closed)
Sat, Jan 11 Classes Begin
Mon, Jan  20 Observance of Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday (Campus Closed)
Mon, Feb 17 Observance of President's Day (Campus Closed)
Mon, Feb 18 Find a Class Opens for Summer/Fall 2020
Mon, Mar 2 Summer/Fall 2020 Priority Registration for Currently Enrolled Students
* Application for May 2020 Graduation
+

Last Day for Withdrawal Without Instructor's Signature

Mon-Sun Mar 9-15 Spring Break
Mon, Mar 16 Summer/Fall 2020 Open Registration Begins
++ Last Day Student Initiated Withdrawal Accepted
Sun, May 3 Last Day of Classes
Mon-Thu, May 4-7 Final exams**
Fri, May 8 Commencement
Fri, May 8 Spring Semester Ends (Last day of Faculty Accountability) 
Mon May 25 Observance of Memorial Day (Campus Closed)
 

* For specific information concerning registration dates, class start dates, application for graduation dates, and final exam dates, consult the class schedule for the college of intended enrollment.
** Classes meeting on Friday evening only, Saturday only or Sunday only will have final examinations during their last regular class meeting.
+ See your student schedule in my.maricopa.edu for the Last Day to Withdraw without an Instructor Signature for each class in which you are enrolled.
++ Refer to the Important Deadlines for Students to determine the Last Day Student Initiated Withdrawal will be accepted.