PC President to Receive Paragon Award

Tuesday, March 7, 2023
Dr. Kimberly Britt sitting in the PC Library
Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Logo

Phoenix College president Dr. Kimberly Britt will receive the Paragon Award when the society of community college honor students – Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) – recognizes 28 college presidents across the United States at the society’s annual convention in April.

To be eligible for the award, college presidents and CEOs are new in their role having served less than 3 years. Recipients are nominated by students on their campus and are only eligible to receive the award once. The 28 recipients were selected from among 406 college presidents, chancellors, and CEOs eligible to receive the Paragon Award.

Zack Knapp, PTK member, said her nomination was a "no-brainer." He acknowledged Dr. Britt and PC's administrative team as a boon to PTK. "We simply had to tell the truth about Dr. Britt's dedication to facilitating student's growth." 

“Based on how regularly Dr. Britt works to improve the quality of education for students, it is clear that she is aiming to inspire students as a whole to improve themselves and their communities. It is clear that Dr. Britt wants only the best for the scholars of tomorrow, and through her collaborative efforts, hopes to take them to newer heights that they may have never reached alone,” said Zach, in the nomination submission.

Phi Theta Kappa President and CEO Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner, said “This award is special because it comes directly from the students, and it is evidence of the gratitude they feel for the support for them and students like them.”

2023 PTK Paragon Award recipients

Dr. Vincent Bowhay, Independence Community College, Kansas

Dr. Kimberly Britt, Phoenix College, Arizona

Olivier Charles, Bishop State Community College, Alabama

Dr. Ronnie (Scott) Cook, Dyersburg State Community College, Tennessee

Dr. Lisa Dresdner, Naugatuck Valley Community College, Connecticut

Dr. Theresa Felder, Harford Community College, Maryland

Dr. Felicia Ganther, Bucks County Community College, Pennsylvania

Dr. Michael Gavin, Delta College, Michigan

Dr. John Hartog, Northwest Iowa Community College, Iowa

Dr. Jimmy Hodges, Calhoun Community College, Alabama

Tim Hood, Mid-Michigan College, Michigan

Dr. David Johnson, Merritt College, California

Dr. Brian Kelly, Clinton Community College, Iowa

Dr. Justin Lonon, Dallas College – Eastfield & Brookhaven Campuses, Texas

Dr. Daniel Lopez, Harold Washington College, Illinois

Ms. Kim Lopez, Cañada College, California

Dr. Daniel Lufkin, Tarrant County College, Texas

Dr. Jennifer Methvin, Arkansas State University – Beebe Campus, Arkansas

Dr. Paige Niehaus, Hillsborough Community College – Dale Mabry Campus, Florida

Dr. Kathleen Plinske, Valencia College – Osceola Campus, Florida

Dr. Steve Robinson, Lansing Community College, Michigan

Dr. Greg Schulz, Citrus College, California

Dr. Vincent Solis, Brazosport College, Texas

Dr. Howard Spearman, Rock Valley College, Illinois

Dr. Stephen Vacik, Hinds Community College, Mississippi

Dr. Christopher Villa, Skagit Valley College, Washington

Dr. Jermaine Whirl, Augusta Technical College, Georgia

Ms. Lisa Willenberg, University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton, Arkansas

“I'm genuinely touched by this award, as it comes from our students," Dr. Britt said when she heard the news. Dr. Britt will attend the PTK annual convention in April with PTK advisors Amy MacPherson and Inhye Peterson, and student Zach Knapp, who will be recognized as a member of the All-USA Academic Team. Only 20 students nationwide are selected for this prestigious honor, which includes a $5,000 scholarship and a special medallion. Zach was also named Arizona’s 2023 News Century Transfer Scholar, and will receive an additional $2,250 scholarship.

Read more about the PTK student awards HERE.  Read the PTK Paragon Award announcement HERE.