Maricopa Emergency Management System Alert

System Status: Critical systems have been restored. If you have not reset your password, please do so now.

  CORONAVIRUS (COVID-19) UPDATE – SPRING 2021: Classes are being conducted online, in-person and hybrid. Select (in-person) student services are available by appointment in the Hannelly Center and the Library.  All services are available remote/online. Please view the following links for more information.   Maricopa Coronavirus Website  |  CARES Funding FAQs  |  Need Help?  | Remote Services & Support  | Library Hours

Fischl Vanguard Awards

The Vanguard Award was created in 2005 by Eric Fischl, contemporary figurative realist painter – and PC alum, to recognize emerging student talent in the fine arts field.

“Phoenix College gave me my start, and I want to honor that opportunity,” said Fischl.

Fischl feels a sense of obligation to give back to the place where he first felt he could be – and was allowed to be – an artist. Fischl says that he is inspired to help Phoenix College become a center for the arts in downtown Phoenix.

Presented as part of the Eric Fischl Lecture Series, the Vanguard Award is a $2,500 Best in Show Award, selected by Fischl and Series guest artist from among the work submitted for the Annual Student Art Exhibit. The Vanguard Award winners’ art is displayed in the Phoenix Art Museum’s Great Hall during the Fischl Lecture Series.

As of June 2017, fifty-one students have been presented the esteemed Vanguard Award. If you are interested in supporting the next generation of great American artists and the Vanguard Awards, please contact the Phoenix College Alumni & Development Office at 602.285.7667.

Past recipients:

  • 2017 Mackenzie Heinemann, John Paul S. Kellogg, Amy Sansbury Manning
  • 2016: Case Binkley, Maera Grove, Jennifer Williamson
  • 2015: Timothy Correa, Paul Elliot, and Paint Co-Lab Members: Lee Brown,
    Deborah Butterfly, Meghan Canty, Edgar Fernandez, Linda Fitzgerald, Jim Jefferies, Jose Rodriguez, Kris Manzanares, Mary Meyers, Daniela Moneta, and Aimee Ollinger
  • 2014: Paint Co-Lab Members: Kasha Banko, Leslie Barton, Lee Brown, Meghan Canty, Claudia Castro, Deanna Diehl, Natasha Dickinson, Linda Fitzgerald, Jim Jeffries, Kris Manzanares, Daniela Moneta, Al Merino, James Pettis, Alan Pobanz, Jose Rodriguez, Tracy Smith, and Marco Turrubiartes
  • 2013: Amelec Diaz, Roberto Romero
  • 2012: Thomas Ingersoll, Kris Manzanares, Marco Turrubiarte,
  • 2011: Jesus Sandoval, Joe Valenzuela
  • 2010: Sharon Kindred, Anna Reitz
  • 2009: James Legg, Alexandria Mada
  • 2008: Francisco Garcia
  • 2007: Catherine (Caty) Raya
  • 2006: Sarah Amalia Brooks
  • 2005: Michelle Marie Bevins